where have I been…


images

It’s has been a while since I blogged about anything but it doesn’t mean that I haven’t been busy with things that I love.

In September of 2013 I went to a Blog Conference called Blog Podium and it was fabulous! It opened my eyes to the possibilities that were open to me as a Blogger. But, it also made me think a great deal about what direction I wanted my blog to go in. What ultimately happened is that I stopped blogging completely. Partly out of intimidation and partly because of time. I walked away from Blog Podium truly feeling that there was no way in God’s creation I was going to be able to keep up with the many fantastic Canadian bloggers out there. These men and women bloggers were oozing with creativity and had such wit in their writing. No way that was going to happen on this blog! The decision I had to make at that time as well is how much extra learning do I want to do? Did I want to purchase Photoshop and learn it’s intricacies? Did I want to learn more about WordPress and the bright and beautiful things that I could do with it? Did I want to monetize my blog and try to earn some money while having fun posting the things about my life and home that I love?

At about the same time as all of these feelings were going on, life took over and it got very busy. Crazy busy! The “life” things seemed more important to me than blogging. The absolute icing on the cake was the fact that my laptop was acting up and it was time to get a new laptop. But I didn’t know which type to get. I did try writing on my iPad, but that was a great deal of work and I really believe my heart was just not that into blogging so I didn’t make it work.

What it a boiled down to is the fact I haven’t blogged since November of 2013! But what makes me come back now? I think it has been a combination of the fact that I actually miss it and I miss the sharing. I now have a new MacBook and I am able to formulate a blog post much better than my iPad. The biggest decision that I have come to is that the way I was blogging before Blog Podium is what I loved to do! And that is where my head is now as well. It took me a while to get back here, but I am so glad that I will continue to blog about my scrapbooking/card making, my home projects, my kid’s accomplishments and things that I love to cook/bake. The simple things in life that make me happy and hopefully things that you will find inspirational and usable in your own lives.

So, what have been up to this last 14 months? Over the next while I will try to hi-light a few things that have gone on in that time? One big thing is that I joined a prestigious club! I turned “50” in November of 2013! My husband had a beautiful surprise birthday party for me and invited some of the most important people in my life. It was wonderful and I will share pictures soon!

9e01fa11c55ddd9220c6bdd9e593bb73

Another big thing that occurred is sending my oldest off to Carleton University in Ottawa. A big step in any child’s life and any parent’s life. It was exciting and a little nerve racking. It was and has been a great experience so far! But I will share more about that as I blog more over the next months.

carleton-logo

So, I am back and look forward to lots of sharing about the simple things that make life around My Humble Abode!

Comments

  1. Judy Stevens says:

    I am happy to hear things are going well Judy. I enjoy following your family through Facebook. Looking forward to hearing more here. How did the backyard project go. Are you happy with the results?

    • Hi Judy…The backyard is still a work in progress…got a few things done this past summer but hope to get a lot more done this summer with no children going off to university! We will definitely post some pictures as the snow goes and spring is upon us! Which can’t come soon enough for me!

Leave a Reply

