living room reorganized….


Since renovating our living room a few years back, I have struggled with this one bannister wall. The bannister is between the living room and the kitchen and I was never quite sure what to do with this wall. The one table I purchased during the renovation as a place to put the stereo. The other table is an end table given to me by my mother. I have the full set of two end tables and the coffee table which actually sits in the other end of the living room. She was given the set as a wedding gift more than 50 years ago. I have had the set refinished and I love it dearly.  I did want this table to stay in the living room. But the current set up was not working for us at all.

BEFORE

BEFORE

BEFORE

BEFORE

BEFORE

BEFORE

I loved the table I had initially purchased for the stereo but it would always drive me crazy to see the wires from the stereo. It did not matter what combination of decorative boxes i placed on the shelves; it just never felt right…

BEFORE

BEFORE

At the end of the living room renovation, I was starting to run out of money and steam. But I knew I needed a table between my two chairs. I found this little cheapo table at a thrift store and thought to myself that it would do until something better came along. I purchased it, placed it between my two chairs and put up with it.

CLOSER PICTURE OF "CHEAPO" TABLE

CLOSER PICTURE OF “CHEAPO” TABLE

This little table served it’s purpose but just a couple of days ago I had the urge to change it. I realized that I had too many tables trying to fill a space. So the little table between the chairs got moved. The stereo table got placed in between the chairs. And the larger table from my Mom’s vintage set is now the home of the stereo.

After

After

imageimage

It feels a little less cluttered now. The tables feel like they are in the right places. And I don’t see so many electrical cords as well. It just works for us now.

Leave a Reply

