design inspiration…


The availability of design inspiration is so available now. Regardless of your budget, you can find the most expensive item to the most thrifty and make it your own through a DIY makeover. I use most of these resources at my fingertips whether it is an online source or a paper edition of a magazine you will get help with any of your renovating/decorating projects.

Recently Updated

Lonny

Lonny is a lifesytle and home design online magazine that was launched in October of 2009. If you go online their magazine is free to view and is filled with amazing designers and their works, galleries of pictures and ideas for any room in your home. I love this magazine because it helps me look outside of my comfort level when it comes to design. Different ways to use a particular piece of furniture or a new way to use bold colors. I just love reading the pages; I feel like I am inside a chic New York apartment or a London flat…Just lovely!

!cid_39FF3E87-4147-4D25-BAC5-EB3279C7FE6E

Style At Home

Style at Home provides it’s readers not only design advice but innovative solutions to achieve their design ideas. Their beautiful photography inspires the reader to think about great ways to incorporate design trends from the inexpensive to high end design work. So fabulous! I used to have the paper magazine sent to my home but now I take advantage of the online edition. So nice to pull out my iPad and have my most recent edition whenever I want it!

!cid_CF377DFA-E10F-43E6-BB7F-7026C0A98DD0

Canadian House and Home

This fantastic magazine is another favourite of mine. They showcase much Canadian talent and design. They showcase many Canadian homes that help the reader see how differently we decorate our homes from coast to coast. I do love their “Before and After” columns the most!

!cid_F32FC791-BEB2-488F-A064-2EAE5D1221CD

decor pad

This is a site that is similar to Pinterest. It is a pin board but more directly focused on decorating, renovating and home building. You can create your own virtual library that you can collect your inspiration photos. There is a community that you can get ideas from, bounce ideas off of and ask advice about building projects. They have a sensational paint gallery. If you are decorating in a particular color, the entire board will help inspire you.

!cid_F48350E0-C0DC-4710-B238-4FC323D85174

decor pad

houzz

What can I say! Houzz is so wonderful! In their own words “Houzz is the easiest way for people to get the design inspiration, project advice, product information and professional reviews they need to help turn ideas with reality.” So many ideas, so many design experts and so many home improvement experts all in one place. The only thing I found to be a little annoying is their is SOOO much that it took me a while to get used to this website. But once I was able to navigate the site easier, I enjoyed it much more.

!cid_B2A78D87-CAD2-4AFE-A47A-45AFD0DFBE85

houzz

Pinterest

Pinterest is so HOT right now! Practically everyone knows or has heard about Pinterest. Even if they don’s use it!  There is so much inspiration on Pinterest from Home Decor to Recipes to Humour to Art So many things to look at and so little time. But if you are focused and know exactly what design element you need help with; this is a great place to visit. You create boards to help keep things organized and uncluttered.

!cid_64B98873-3161-4BAA-8C82-44DE9387AE46

pinterest

There are many more places to get inspiration on the internet but these are the places that I can call my diehards. Where do you get design inspiration? I would love to know so that I can take a peek…let me know in your comments…

Leave a Reply

