First Lattice Pie…


Now here’s the thing….I don’t make pies! I have never liked making pastry and I never get the right mixture for the filling. But this one for some reason I knocked it out of the park!!! My family loved it. And so did I!!! The pastry was moist and the filling was perfectly flavoured. Here is the other thing; my grandmother always made pies. We would go to her place at lunchtime from high school and she would always have a fresh pie or pudding right out of the oven. So i decided to start there…I used her pastry recipe. A little unconventional because it calls for butter not shortening. But it so worked the day that I made it!

Grandma Melvin’s Pastry

1 cup butter

1 egg

3 tb. brown sugar

2 cup flour

1 tsp. baking powder

I used my food processor to mix the ingredients and I made sure my butter was cold and cut into cubes. I threw all the ingredients in the food processor and pulsed it several times until it formed a ball. I then cut it in half and placed both halves in the fridge for approximately 10 minutes to get a little harder. Taking one half, I rolled it out to just less than 1/4 inch thick and placed it in a 9 inch pie plate and baked it for about 10 minutes on 350 degrees. Remember to poke holes in the bottom so that your pastry does not bubble up while baking. Once it is out and you have let it cool a little you can add your filling.

Now the filling is a different story. I have a huge patch of rhubarb in my garden and I struggle every year to create something different from it. This year it was going to be this filling that I was not too sure about. I wish I had some magic recipe to give you but this is roughly what I did. I used 3 cups of rhubarb cut in 1/4 inch cubes, 2 cups of large cubes strawberries, about 1 cup sugar, splash of balsamic vinegar for freshness, 3 tbsps. flour, and 1 tbsp. butter. All mixed really well. I actually let it sit for about 10 minutes and then mixed it again and then into the pie shell.  Took the second ball of pastry and rolled it out, cut it into 1 inch strips and worked on making the lattice. It was a little fussy but I loved looking at it while I was making it and while it was in the oven. Could hardly believe that I had done it!!! Too Funny!!

The biggest tip someone gave me was that once it was cooked, let it sit overnight. Avoid the temptation to cut it. I was so glad that I had because it was real set when we cut it the next night. Put a scoop of vanilla ice cream next to a piece and a hot cup of tea and I was set!!

018

019

Leave a Reply

