Roasted Heirloom Beets…


This past weekend, my family and I drove by this great farmers market down towards Hamilton…I could not believe how many Heirloom fruits and vegetables they had. It was so much fun to look at the different varietites; especially the tomatoes and the beets. I LOVE BEETS!!!. They are the simpliest to perpare and with very little seasoning they turn into sweet, yummy roasted goodness. The ones I picked to bring home were called Candy Cane Beets and Mustard Beets. So different from your typical red beets. The picture does not do it enough justice. The Candy Cane Beets were so pink, red and white. The Mustard Beets were such a crimson yellow.
I prepare all of my beets the same way. The thing I did notice was once I prepared my candy cane beets they lost their striation. A bit of a bummer but they still tasted real good. To prepare them I blanch the beets first. This helps with peeling them and cutting for roasting. But all that I do is cut the top and bottom off the beet. Prepare a pot of boiling water and put the beets in the boling water for about 3-5 minutes depending on the size of the beets making sure the beet is completely covered in the water. If it is a large beet, longer time in the water.
Once out of the water I give them a few minutes to cool. Lay the beet on the flate edge. Start slicing the skin off the beet off from top to bottom and work your way around the beet until all skin is off. Once the beet is skinned; cut into large chunks as seen in the bowl below.
Once cut, you now add the simpliest of ingredients. Some cracked black pepper, sea salt, olive oil and a dash of balsamic vinegar. Aren’t they so pretty!!!
Don’t mind the messy bowl…before I prepared my beets I mixed my roast potatoes in the same bowl. Trying to keep it simple in the kitchen and not have several bowls on the go at the same time.
Once the beets are melded well with all of the ingredients; place them in a foil wrap bed. I typically double wrap them so none of those gorgeous juices run out. Now you can place this on the top rack of your BBQ about 30-45 minutes before your meat goes on the BBQ or you can roast them in the oven during the winter months. I find that on the BBQ they take on a smokier flavor. But either way, these babies turn out so yummy; tender, juicy and so sweet!

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

