When the lights went out in Cambridge…


When Richard and the kids picked me up at work tonight they told me that there was no power at home. It has been a rather blustery day in southern Ontario with many power lines and trees falling all over the place. Well it just so happens that one of them trees fell just around the corner from my house and right onto one of those power lines. At first I thought what a drag.
But then once we got home it was all about being creative and fun. The place got brightened up with candles and we found one of our old camping lights and a stack of UNO cards. After a few games of UNO; (which I might add, I beat all of them) the kids started to read and it got very cosy in our living room. It was 9:30 PM and just as I was thinking we should all get an early night; the lights all came back on.
Very quickly, Simon runs downstairs to get the sports scores, Jared went around the house blowing out candles and seeing what was on TV, I turned on my computer to check the news and write on this here blog and Richard made his famous chocolate chip cookies for me to bring into work on Sunday.
I must say though that I enjoyed that 1 1/2 hours of peace, solitude, and close family time. We very rarely get that and I think I am going to make an effort to try that more often. Turn everything off for an evening, pretend like the power is out, light up some candles and get the family around the table for a game of cards. Forget the technology and just be!!! What do you think???

Comments

  1. Sounds like a good plan. Esp. if you are just pretending the power is out and can enjoy the fun stuff, like candles and family time without worrying about the food in the freezer or the heat or AC!

  2. I think that sounds like an excellent idea!

  3. Sounds like you had a wonderful time, Judy!!

Leave a Reply

