Best Christmas Gift Ever…


Well, I have never been given such a gift before and I have to share it with you all. It proves that people still give of themselves in the nicest ways and pure kindness is NOT dead and that the Christmas spirit is very much alive in some peoples hearts.
Some of you may or may not know, but I am a registered nurse. I work at the local hospital in the CVICU. This is the unit where people come to recover from their bypass or valve surgeries. Great unit to work in, very heavy sometimes but I do love the kind of work I do. This year was my turn to work Christmas. I have been very blessed in the past where I have not had to work many Chrstmas’ in the past. When the schedule came out, I will admit I was quit sad. I know that there are people in hospital at that time of year and that they need nurses to take care of them, but this year; I don’t know why, but I was having a difficult time with working Christmas this year.
Anyway, on Friday of last week, one of the girls I work with, Gina, comes to me and offers to work my Christmas Day so that “I can be home with my kids and family”. I have to work her New Years Eve in exchange. You have no idea how that felt. I immediately started to cry. I am such a softy when it comes to that kind of stuff. I could not believe the gift she had given to me. She stated that she had no big plans for Christmas day, (she is a single lady) and was going to a large family gathering in the evening. She said she could go to this event once she got off work that evening therefore did not need the daytime off therefore she could work for me.
Since this has happened, I can barely express my feelings. It is such an overwhelming feeling of pure kindness and giving. This gift was given with the truest form of the Christmas Spirit and I will definitely at some point in the New Year, pay it forward. This kind of giving must not be forgotten.
Merry Christmas everyone and may you find some way to give a gift like this in the future. You will have no idea how it affects someone until you try!!!

Comments

  1. very sweet – gave me goosebumps!

  2. I got a little teary reading this Judy! What a lovely gift! I used to work in group homes so I know what it is like to have to be away from your family on holidays because there are others who need you as well. I am so glad you received this gift. Enjoy the time with your family! A very Merry Christmas to you!!

  3. How nice of her and you were obviously very touched by her offer, she was indeed very kind. Have a great Christmas!

  4. wow I started to cry reading this! There are still a lot of wonderful people out there πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

